The Var Plain

The Var plain[06]

Ilex did a strategic preliminary study of the area, in which geographical and urban pressures were strong. How was quality of life to be preserved, along with a balance between urban development and agricultural activity?

A complex environment

As a developing area, the valley is characterised by an historical partition: on one side there are the major axes of mobility, the human habitat and urban development resulting from a favourable geographical situation, and on the other, agricultural activity that is vulnerable to developmental pressure. And between them, there is the threat posed by a powerful river confined to an artificial bed and constricted by urban expansion.

A strategic framework

Given the landscape and the economic conditions, the idea was to harmonise the development of the terrain, and to integrate it into a long-term strategy. We identified and analysed zones of high intensity, with urban forms related to existing opportunities and risks. Six areas of coherence were defined within the study zone, and action plans were put forward.

SHAREShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

The Var plain
2009-2010
Client: Communauté d'Agglomération Nice Côte-d'Azur
Design: Ilex paysage urbanisme, SEURA (team leader), Sensini, ETC, Oteis, Energies Demain, CVL
Mission: definitional market (not completed)
Area: 12,500 hectares

 

ilex_plaine-du-var-plan

Schéma directeur pour l’O.I.N. Plaine du Var

Plaine du Var[06]


Ilex intervient pour une étude de stratégie et de programmation sur un espace où la géographie et la pression urbaine sont deux éléments forts : Comment préserver un cadre de vie d’avenir et un équilibre entre développement urbain et activité agricole ?

Un environnement complexe

Pièce en devenir de la métropole littorale niçoise, la vallée se développe sur une double partition historique : d’un côté les axes majeurs de circulation, l’habitat et le développement urbain dus à une géographie de plaine opportune, de l’autre une activité agricole peu à peu grignotée par la pression foncière. Au centre, la menace sourde d’un fleuve en puissance, comprimé dans un lit artificiel et restreint au profit de l’extension urbaine.

Un cadrage stratégique

Par le paysage et l’observation des composantes économiques, il s’agit de trouver les clés d’entrée pour harmoniser et apaiser le développement de ce territoire et l’inscrire dans un temps long. Nous analysons et dégageons les zones d’intensités prégnantes, les formes urbaines à mettre en place au regard des opportunités et des menaces du territoire. Six aires de cohérence sont cernées et délimitées au sein de la zone d’étude, et différents systèmes d’actions sont préconisés.

 

PARTAGERShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Lieu : Plaine du Var  (06)
Maîtrise d’ouvrage : Communauté d’Agglomération Nice Côte d’Azur
Concepteurs : Ilex paysage urbanisme, Seura (mandataire), Sensini, ETC, Oteis, Energies Demain, CVL
Dates : 2009-2010
Missions : marché de définition (déclaré sans suite)
Surface : 12 500 ha

ilex_plaine-du-var-plan