Jardin de Lyon, Montreal

Montreal[Quebec]

This garden resulted from a cultural exchange between Lyon and Montreal, initiated by the Jacques Cartier centre for Franco-Quebecois cooperation.

In 2000, Lyon and Montreal exchanged plots of land on which artists and landscape designers could carry out projects. In Montreal, Ilex and the artist Jean-François Gavoty were commissioned to create a garden of 2,000m2 that would celebrate fusions of genres and languages.

Nature and culture

Jean-François Gavoty created an imaginary bestiary based on a coded language used by homeless people. Ilex developed an image of the countryside around Montreal. The two approaches came together in a tranquil if mysterious way, inspired both by landscapes and urban mythologies. This is an open-air cabinet of curiosities, a display case for butterflies in which the sculptures provide a vertical counterpoint to the base lines of the ground plan.

An unusual terrain

On this sloping surface, Ilex set out a minimalist view: upper and lower terraces in granite, with a stretch of ground between them, above which Jean-François Gavoty’s « signs » produce a forest. The plantations recall Quebec’s wide open spaces, with native wild plants such as bearberries, ferns and perennials. Under the snow, the garden sleeps, and only the imaginary forest stands out, in its evergreen foliage of sculptures.

SHAREShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Montreal, 2000
Client : City of Montreal
Design : Ilex paysage urbanisme, Jean-François Gavoty
Area : 2000m²
Budget : 530,000€

Jardin de Lyon à Montréal

Montréal[Québec]


Le jardin de Lyon à Montréal est issu d’un échange culturel entre les deux villes initié par le centre de coopération franco-québécoise Jacques Cartier.

En 2000, la ville de Lyon et celle de Montréal s’échangent terrains, artistes et paysagistes pour voir naître deux projets singuliers. Ilex est sélectionnée et associée à l’artiste sculpteur Jean-François Gavoty pour la réalisation d’un jardin peu ordinaire, sur un espace de 2000m². Un projet onirique qui célèbre la rencontre des genres et le croisement des langages.

Nature et culture

Gavoty travaille un bestiaire imaginaire inspiré d’un langage codé de sans-abris. Ilex choisit de développer l’image des landes emblématiques des abords de Montréal. Ils combinent leurs approches en un tableau profondément paisible et mystérieux, évoquant à la fois les grands paysages et les mythologies urbaines. On entre ici dans un cabinet de curiosité à ciel ouvert, petite boîte à papillon où les sculptures viennent rythmer à la verticale les grandes lignes épurées dessinées sur la terre.

Un terrain atypique

Sur un terrain en pente Ilex propose une approche minimale : deux terrasses de granit haute et basse, et une lande tendue entre les deux, au-dessus de laquelle les « signes » de Gavoty viennent se piquer en forêt. Les plantations racontent les grands espaces Québécois, faits de plantes sauvages endémiques comme les raisins d’ours, les fougères et les grandes vivaces.  Sous la neige le jardin s’endort et seule dépasse la forêt imaginaire, dans son feuillage persistant de sculptures.

 

PARTAGERShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Lieu : Montréal
Maîtrise d’ouvrage : Ville de Montréal
Maîtres d’œuvre : Ilex paysage urbanisme, Jean-François Gavoty
Dates : 2000
Surface : 2000m²
Montant de travaux : 530 000€