Al Zorah Linear Park

Emirates of Ajman[UAE]

In this developing project, we are part of an initial operation involving both a resort and a habitat. Between mangrove and coast, the questions that need to be addressed are those of landscaping, architecture, symbolism and functionality.

Linking up a resort and a city
In the heart of this new development, the Linear Park project is a combination of a coastal resort and a city on the edge of a mangrove. Ilex’s task was to create a public, planted-out space that would connect up the different areas, but also act as a crossroad for encounters and activities in the heart of a distinctive developmental typology.

Volumes and amenities
The conceptualised volumes were inspired by the surrounding desert, and they provide relief within the flat expanse of the coast. Green dunes mark the landscape, giving depth and identity to the park, whose dense canopy of foliage creates shade, while the skyline is punctuated by soaring palm trees.

A strong identity
The vegetation creates a sort of cocoon that gives a cool, protective sense of interiority in the midst of desiccation and aridity. This strong symbolic presence results in something more than a transit zone: it is an emblematic living space in a new urban entity.

Centrality
Marina Square is a focal point between the city and the resort, the mangrove and the coast. On the waterfront, there is a promenade that evens out differences in level and takes over from the plant canopy in the provision of shade.
Linear Park constitutes an open space within a configuration that is traditionally closed in upon itself. The creation of volumes, shade and intimacy through the use of vegetation and topography generates an equilibrium, a smooth transition between public and private space, with an invitation to relaxation and sociability.

SHAREShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Linear park, Emirate of Ajman, UAE
2012 (design details in the course of development)
Client: Solidere International
Design: Ilex paysage urbanisme, Lissoni Associati Architecte, Norr BET, Cracknell BET
Mission: design of outdoor spaces for a resort in Al Zorah
Phases: Concept Design (AVP), Schematic Design (PRO), Detailed Design (EXE)
Area: 9.1 hectares

ilex_al-zorah-vignette-1

Al Zorah Linear Park

Emirat d'Ajman[Emirats Arabes Unis]


Dans cette ville en projet, nous intervenons sur la première opération d’un nouvel ensemble mêlant resort et habitat. Entre mangrove et littoral, les enjeux sont à la fois d’ordre paysager, architectural, symbolique et de confort.

Relier « resort » et « city »

Au cœur de cette ville nouvelle, le projet du Linear Park fait le lien entre le « resort » sur le littoral et la « city » en bordure de mangrove. L’enjeu pour Ilex est la création d’un espace public végétal qui serve de liaison entre tous les quartiers et qui soit un carrefour de rencontres et d’activités, au cœur d’une typologie d’aménagement singulière.

Volume et confort

Les volumes imaginés s’inspirent du désert environnant et viennent donner du relief à l’étendue plane du littoral. De petites dunes vertes vallonnent le paysage et concèdent au parc une épaisseur et une identité. Au-dessus, on créée une canopée assez dense augmentée de quelques grands palmiers comme autant de points de repères qui viennent rythmer l’espace aérien. Cette riche végétation confère au lieu des espaces très ombragés qui accompagnent le public dans ses activités.

Une identité forte

La puissance des volumes végétaux ainsi sculptés créent un véritable cocon, intériorité protectrice et fraîche dans un espace aride et très sec. Cette présence forte et symbolique invite les habitants et les résidents à investir ce lieu qui, dès lors, devient plus qu’un espace de transit, un lieu de vie emblématique de la ville nouvelle.

Une nouvelle centralité

La place Marina Square devient le point central reliant ville et « resort », mangrove et littoral. Sur les quais, une promenade ambulante est aménagée qui vient pallier les différences de niveau et prendre le relais de la canopée végétale pour ombrager les axes de cheminement.

Le Linear Park propose un espace ouvert dans un système d’aménagement traditionnellement clos sur lui-même. La création de volumes, d’ombrages et de zones intimes par la végétation et la topographie permet de trouver un équilibre, une transition douce entre espace public et espace privé, invitant à la promenade et à la rencontre.

PARTAGERShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Lieu : Emirat d’Ajman, EAU
Maîtrise d’ouvrage : Solidere International
Concepteurs : Ilex [paysage urbanisme], Lissoni Associati Architecte, Norr BET, Cracknell BET
Dates : 2012 - details design en cours
Missions : MOE des 9,1 ha d’espaces extérieurs de l’un des Resort d’Al Zorah
Phases Concept Design [AVP], Schematic Design [PRO] et Detailed Design [EXE]
Surface : 9,1 ha

ilex_al-zorah-vignette-1